Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

no cookiesSo I bought a Chicken Soup for the Soul book, The Power of Positive, before Christmas. I have to say that it has been a great purchase for me. It is a compilation of short stories about how people have overcome, how people have changed and how the power of positive thinking, energy, what have you, has changed their lives for the better.

Today I read a story called “The Day I Took Control”. It was about a woman who had been a serial dieter and finally one day (after she had put on weight yet again) decided that the cake and cookies and sweets no longer ruled her. She repeated a mantra as she was cleaning out her pantry, “You don’t rule me cookies, you don’t rule me cake, you don’t rule me treats.”

I have to say that this seems to fit right in with the Retrain Your Brain  post I wrote yesterday. If I can talk to my brain about negative thoughts, I can certainly talk to my brain and let it know who is in charge when it comes to eating. Now this seems easy to say as I just recently ate a very large tootsie roll and am not craving sweets at the moment. But I’m hoping I can repeat my own mantra of sorts when I hear junk food calling my name. “You Don’t Rule Me junkfood, I Rule Me!!”

BTW, in case you are interested, I have upped my intake of fruits and veggies. I had a lovely blueberry, blackberry, banana smoothie for lunch today, salad and chicken for lunch yesterday plus some raw veggies with my dinner last night. I’m not doing quite as well with the exercise but baby steps, right? Right!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

