Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

Purging Stuff

So this week I was supposed to purge 10 things. I guess when I wrote that action I kind of thought that it would be 10 BIG things. Well, I really didn’t have 10 big things that I wanted to get rid of so instead I got rid of a lot of little things and a couple of big things… way more than 10 so I think I did OK. I’m not saying everything is perfect but I made progress!

clutterNow some of you are thinking that purging isn’t a big deal. For me, it kinda is. I’m not good of getting rid of things that still have use. I feel very strongly about reusing and recycling things. If something still has a use for someone I hate the idea of throwing it in the garbage. So today I threw a few things out but the rest I packed up and hauled off to the donation bin. Personally I think the landfill is already overflowing with perfectly useful stuff that people throw away and I don’t want to add to that.

As you can probably guess, I’m also an avid second-hand shopper, some habits are hard to break. I’ve pretty much been using second-hand stuff my whole life. I have an older sister so I was always getting her hand-me-downs as a kid. And when my teenage cousins brought their old clothes over for my sister and I it was like Christmas all over again. The second-hand experiences continued as I grew up. Once I started high school and had to buy my own clothes with my own money, it didn’t take long for me to figure out that I could get a lot more for a lot less by shopping second-hand.

My kids have been brought up this way as well (well half of the time – their father isn’t quite as sold on the whole recycle/reuse concept). However, I think it’s a good lesson to learn. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

