Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

Revive Your Brain

I came across this Ted Talk today and I want you to watch it. I mean this guy is really funny but that’s not the point, the point is for you to really listen to what he says. His talk is about Positive Psychology. And what he has to say could change the way you do things if you really listen. Watch it more than once if you have to to let it all sink in. I’ve already watched it twice.

Here is a really brief synopsis, but just reading this probably won’t change your life. Watch the video, it is only 12 minutes 😉

One of the things that Shawn says that is really true is that – Our external world is not predictive of our happiness levels. Our happiness is determined by the way our brain processes the world. If you look at the world through a filter of negativity you will see the negative but it you change the filter to one of positivity, it will change your outlook and the way you interpret things. – I really believe this is true. It is January 25th and I am feeling more positive about life. I have been adjusting my thoughts. But it takes actual effort and you have to be cognitive of what you are doing. If you just go through life thinking that nothing can change then nothing will but if you make an effort (this is the key, you have to make an effort) to see things differently and to evaluate why and how you do things then you can cognitively change your behaviour. Yup, I am a 100% believer.

Anyway, back to the video, when he get towards the end he talks about the “Happiness Advantage”. Basically what it means is that “Being happy turns on all of the learning centers in your brain.” This means your brain will work harder, faster and more intelligently when you are happy to start with. And then he teaches you how to be happier (see below)!

How to Revive Your Brain in 21 Days:

  1. Write down 3 things you are grateful for every day. This will help you seek out the positives in life instead of the negatives.
  2. Journal, in detail, about one positive thing that happened within the last 24 hours. This will help your brain relive the positive experience in your life.
  3. Exercise – this teaches your brain that your behaviour matters.
  4. Meditate – this teaches your brain how to really focus on one task at a time.
  5. Daily (Conscious) Random Acts of kindness – and they can be as simple as writing someone an email filled with praise or thanks to brighten their day.

That’s it, do these 5 things everyday for 21 days and it could change your life. I’ve been doing it piecemeal but I think I am ready to really start the process. Two of the areas I will really need to focus on are exercising and meditating, I have been avoiding both. Now this week has been really busy for me but if I use that as an excuse when will I ever find the time? I’m going to update my 52 Actions and change next weeks to this challenge. Wish me luck!!!

Here’s the video again: The Happy Secret to Better Work

Comments on: "Revive Your Brain" (1)

  1. […] for. Today I am going to do things a little differently and write them out. In my post called Revive Your Brain, I talk about Shawn Achor’s Ted Talk, “The Happy Secret to Better Work”, where he […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

