Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

Didn’t Get the Job

rejectionSo I didn’t get the job I thought I was going to get… annddd I spent last night and this morning feeling sorry for myself 😦 I was ignoring my whole positive psychology thing on purpose, languishing in the self-pity I guess.

Then one of my friends sent me a Facebook message today asking about the job. We were chatting for a bit and I asked her how she was doing. She was laid off at the same time I was but has found some temporary work for now. Her and and her boyfriend moved in with each other in Sept but after she lost her job in Oct they started having problems. Mostly it was because her ex-husband started being more of an ass than usual after she got laid off. (Money always brings out the worst in people.) Anyway, a couple of weeks ago the boyfriend moved out and left her in a place where she can’t afford the rent all by herself…. and her job finishes at the end of March.

So after talking to her I realized my life’s not so bad. No, I didn’t get the job but I’m still ok. I don’t have a boyfriend to leave me when I need him most and my ex-husband and I get along just fine. Plus I can afford to stay where I am for awhile yet. So I gathered myself together and applied for 4 pretty good jobs today. I still have to hope for an interview but I made progress. I did more than sit on the coach and feel sorry for myself.

My friend is going through a hard time right now, harder than me, at least from my perspective. And that’s what it’s all about really, perspective. Sometimes it’s good to get some 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

