Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

Badminton FTW (for the win)

badmintonI played badminton yesterday!

I made the call to find out when it was, I bought myself a racket and some birdies and I went out to meet new people. I was a little nervous going in but am so glad I went. It was a small group, only 7 of us there but they told me they sometimes have as many as 20. It was slightly awkward for me since everyone seemed to know each other already but they were very welcoming and friendly.

One of the women there was kind enough to review a few of the finer points of badminton as I hadn`t played for real in years and apparently the rules have changed. I only ended up playing one actual game, the rest was just rallying which was fine with me since everyone there was better than me. But no matter, I will get better and plan to go back.

I was surprised at what a workout I got. I played for about 1 hr and 15 min with a couple of breaks in there but I was sweating like crazy. And then this morning I thought my arm or shoulder might be sore but they were great, it was my butt and the backs of my thighs. You don`t realize how much lunging you are doing to get the birdie until you feel it the next day.

I`m not sure if I`ll be able to go every week or not but I will definitely go every 2 weeks. It`s great exercise and lots of fun!! Yay me!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

