Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

I hate house cleaning! I’ve heard there are people out there who actually like it but I think there may be something wrong with them. So, my dilemma is that even when my house needs to be cleaned, I really don’t want to do it.

However, today it got done. And now everything is sparkly and pretty. The reason why it got done is because we had company coming over tonight. (I guess I just need to have company over more often and then it will get done more often.) 

After some consideration, it would seem that the way that I most often motivate myself is with the threat of consequences, as you can see with the above example. The reason I broke down and cleaned my house is so that our guest would not think that we are complete slobs. I’ve also created a consequence of some form with my weekly actions on this blog. I post my goals on this public forum so that now the world knows about them and I have to be accountable or look like an idiot. Whereas if I just kept them to myself, I could continue to avoid them and no one would be the wiser.

I recently read this article on Dumb Little Man called 5 Ways to Motivate Yourself to Action. And since I tend to only use 1 of the 5 methods of motivation in this article, I think I am going to try to up my game and incorporate some of the other motivational ideas as well. Here they are:

  1. throw your hat over the wall – do something simple that will force you to get motivated
  2. envision the feeling of actually accomplishing the goal, then do it
  3. give up something you really like doing until you accomplish your goal
  4. start the snowball – what is the smallest thing you can do to get the process started?

I’m quite sure that part of the reason I did not teach myself to crochet this week (or at least start the process) is that I didn’t have the tools I needed to start crocheting. (You really need a crochet hook and some yarn to make it work :P) So maybe my goal for this week should have been to gather supplies for the project and then I could learn to crochet during another week.

I need to get better at breaking big tasks down into bite sized tasks. That way I could make a little bit of progress every day instead of avoiding the big, daunting tasks altogether. I think that mixed with some negative consequences could help me make the most of every week.

I do really want this project to be a success this year so I need to motivate myself in multiple ways so that I will be happy with the end result.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

