Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

Getting a Grip on Life

Eat,_Pray,_LoveA movie needs to speak to me for me to watch it more than once. I just watched Eat, Pray, Love for the third time. I fell in love with the book when I read it and I loved the movie as well.

I know not everyone feels that way about the story but it resonated with me when I first read it because I was newly separated from the same man for the second time. Things were raw and I was hurting. I could feel the pain of the broken hearts. And I think that is when I first started going down the road of spirituality again. I was trying to find myself in the broken bits that were left.

Flash forward three years and I’m still trying to find myself, although slightly less broken. In the beginning of the movie her boyfriend tells her to stop waiting which is when she makes a bold choice to travel the world. I feel like I am waiting. I’d love the luxury of being able to take off for a year and go somewhere exotic, however, I have two kids that I would miss so much my heart would feel like an open wound so I am forced to try and find myself here in the suburbs. I actually think the familiar surroundings are not that much help though. I feel like I am lulled into some sense of innate immobility. I feel like I am waiting for inspiration to strike like a bolt of lightning and it still has not.

I know I am making some slow progress in my life but I feel like things should be changing more quickly. Perhaps I need a bigger quest, a bigger motivator. Perhaps I just need to make a decision and move forward whether it is the right decision or not.

Another thing that struck me this time as I watched the movie was how they talked about balance. Not that long ago, I used to say that life was all about balance and I thought that I had some. Let me tell you, I haven’t felt balanced in a long time. I’m not really sure what is all that different now or how I lost my balance. You would think that with all of this thinking that I do that I would have a better grip on life. Lol. I guess I need to keep working on it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

