Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

IMG00554-20130530-1906Today was the last day of my 30x30 challenge. I was kind of hoping to end it on a high note but my 30 minutes today were pretty low on my nature-loving scale, especially since the hungry bugs sucked the fun out everything, literally!

The reason it was slightly disappointing was that my 30 minutes was actually broken into 2 parts: 25 minutes this evening + 5 minutes from earlier in the day. This afternoon I took a few minutes to enjoy the sunshine in my backyard when the sun peeked out from behind the clouds. It was not my original plan to actually count those minutes in the backyard but sometimes dire circumstances result in compromises.

When my youngest and I went for a walk this evening the black flies and mosquitoes were out in full force. I think I saw one about the size of a small bird. Ok, maybe not the size of a bird but a very large June bug for sure :P. I did manage to last 25 minutes out in the wilderness but after about the sixth bug bite in a row I bolted for the car. My youngest was already there having given up on Mom’s silly quest after 15 minutes.

I did get a few pictures to document the last day before I ran for cover. They aren’t fantastic as I was swatting bugs while trying to focus, but you can tell I was outside and that’s what counts.

IMG00556-20130530-1912 IMG00561-20130530-1917

All in all, I’m really happy I took the challenge and I’m pleased with the way things turned out. I made a definite effort to engage with nature while I was outside. I didn’t just sit in the grass and read a book every day. I went to a variety of locations, I tried to enjoy the sounds, sights and smells while I was out there, and I did my best to go every day. I ended up missing 3 days of the challenge, however, there were many days where I greatly exceeded the 30 minutes so I am proud to say that the challenge was a great success for me.

My plan for June is to do a Plank a Day for the month June, it doesn’t rhyme like “Plank a Day in May”, but I found it too difficult to remember to do both challenges every day for the month of May so I had to reschedule one of them. I’m old and my memory can only hold so much information. I plan to start June 1st so I’ll let you know how it’s going once I get started :).

Comments on: "Last Day of My 30×30 Challenge" (1)

  1. […] a salad or drink a smoothie every day of this month. I’m also going to try to continue the plank a day challenge that I did for the month of June. The planking challenge has been fairly successful I […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

