Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

friendsI came up with a simple plan about a month ago to re-connect with some friends I have not been in touch with recently. The concept was to have a lunch, coffee or drink date with 4 different people over a period of 4 weeks.

In theory that sounds pretty easy but once you throw work, vacations and just general scheduling into the mix it becomes trickier. After a few cancellations and some creativity I managed to meet 4 of my friends in a slightly over 4 week time frame. I also have 2 outstanding invitations which I plan to follow-up on later.

The first meeting was lunch. The woman I met was more of an acquaintance than friend so I had great hopes. I always thought we might hit it off if we had the time to chat, I don’t think I’ve found my new best friend but I’m still really glad I made the effort to connect with her.

The next lunch was with a friend that I meet sporadically. We met about 14 years ago at school and we reconnected again about 3 years ago when we came across each other in the realm of online dating. He has asked me out but I’ve always put him off as I think we are much better friends than we ever would be in any type of intimate relationship. I always enjoy getting together with him though because he is the perfect person to share dating ‘war’ stories with. He seems to attract a multitude of  crazy women and often has great stories to tell.

The third meet-up was at a wedding, I admit, I cheated on this one. I didn’t invite this friend but I knew she was going to be there and I knew we would hang out. We used to work together in the same office and sat right next to each other. We got to be pretty good friends during that time. She moved out of the city to be with her boyfriend so as time passed our chats grew less and less frequent. It was so great to see her at the wedding. She’s always smiling and so fun to be around, I really enjoyed seeing her again. I was glad we got the chance to catch up a bit. (If you’re reading this Jess, I just want to say that I miss you and was so happy to see you at the wedding :).)

The fourth meeting was yesterday at a coffee shop. I have this awesome friend who lives an hour away from me so it’s not that easy for us to connect. I had an interview yesterday near where she works and she was able to get away for an hour for us to chat. It was so nice to catch up. I always wished we lived closer so we could hang out more. She’s funny, talkative and a bit crazy – just the way I like my friends. We went to a Metallica concert together a few years ago, it’s definitely not my genre of music but I figured if I was going to be there I was going to be up front. The two of us wormed our way to almost the front (using the excuse that anyone tall could see over our heads) and we had a blast. I even caught a couple of the guitar picks they threw out to the crowd at the end of the show.

So how would I rate my little experiment? It was a definite success. I really enjoyed re-connecting with these people. And like I said, I have a couple more on my list that we tried to meet up and couldn’t make it happen within this time frame but there’s always next month.

If you have some old friends that you haven’t seen in quite a while then reach out to them and make it happen. Old friends are good friends and you’ll be glad to talk about life, listen to future plans or reminisce about past adventures. It’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

