Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

On an impulse I signed up to do some volunteering. It’s nothing very exciting, just some data entry, but it got me out of the house yesterday for a few hours. I am helping the Conservation Council compile the water access spots in the province. Basically it is taking some information out of binders and putting it into a spreadsheet. It will take several days to get it all done so perhaps this is the right kind of positive energy to put out there to get me a paying job.

The great thing about volunteering is there is no interview process. They don’t even care what your skills are. You just say you can do something, they assume that you are telling the truth, then they put you to work. Simple. It’s kind of refreshing actually after the multitude of interviews that I have been on. There is someone out there who assumes I am a good fit and can do the work.

I know, I know. This is not a full-time job so they don`t have to determine if I would fit in for more than a few days or weeks but I do think the whole interview process could be better than it is.

As for the volunteering, I could have picked something more fun to do than data entry, but the Conservation Council interests me so I thought I`d give it a try.

Comments on: "Data Entry, Not Just for Volunteers" (1)

  1. […] week and I have also touched base with a placement agency.  Plus I have done a small amount of volunteering to get me out of the house. Something has got to happen […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

