Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

I have 2 sisters. I’m very lucky as they are also my best friends.

It wasn’t always this way, growing up there were plenty of skirmishes. My older sister and I had our fair share but my younger sister and I really did not get along. There are 5.5 years between my younger sister and I and my Mom says that I resented her because I was the baby until she came along. I can neither confirm not deny that as I have no idea if that was the reason or not but I do know that we fought like cats and dogs. Things finally worked themselves out between us when I moved out at 18 and went to university.

Part of what helped us resolve things was a family crisis and another part was the space. The crisis gave us some common ground and the space allowed us to not be in each other’s hair all of the time. I’m not saying the crisis was a good thing, it wasn’t. But if I’m trying to look for the silver lining, I think that it was the beginning of a new understanding of each other.

Now the 3 of us are grown and we truly enjoy each other’s company. Even though I would consider myself an introvert, I never have any trouble talking to my sisters. I know that our shared history is a huge part of it, it means that we have similar values and definitely a similar upbringing. But not all siblings are close. I think that we just “get” each other. We accept each other’s strengths and weaknesses, we are always supportive and we love each other unconditionally. Those are key ingredients to any type of good relationship.

I’m just super lucky to have that relationship with 2 of the most important women in my life!

 

Comments on: "I Hope You Love Your Sisters Like I Love Mine" (2)

  1. singleisthenewpurple said:

    I’m so jealous of you having a good relationship with your sister… mine harsh as it may sound I don’t talk to her. She pitches the family against each other… She’ll ask you a series of questions and then cross reference with what everyone else said when she asked them. Then she’ll manipulate you to fall out with each other.
    I have a really good relationship with my parents but think they can unconditionally love her once I’m not involved she can’t cause trouble.
    My brother send presents to her and text her but I was youngest and just remember being told not to be like her.,… The drama she integrated into our lives was tangible in our house…If i ever caught her out on the truth I’d be shocked….
    Treasure them because you’ll love them better than I can love mine.

    • Sorry to hear you don’t have a good relationship with your sister. I know I’m lucky to have the one I have with mine.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

