Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

My new friend, Sven, is a computer geek ;). And somehow, more than once, we have gotten on the topic of creating an iPhone app. We’ve tossed around a few ideas. Today I came up with the idea of an Affirmation App.

Here’s how it happened:

My day started out ok. I got up early and headed out to a job interview and some guy totally checked me out as I was walking down the street. Things were going well!

Then I went into the interview… At first I thought it went relatively well but by the time I was driving home I was second guessing some of my responses. Plus I reminded myself that the job was not exactly in my wheelhouse and they would probably be interviewing lots of people with better qualifications than me. In addition, remember how I got laid off 10 months ago? Well the company I worked for just did another big layoff… today. Lots of people I know. Which also means lots more people out looking for jobs. To top this all off, I had lunch with Sven (who I like) and the lunch just proved to me even more that he is not ready for any type of relationship.

So when I got home, I headed right for the chocolate covered almonds. Probably my first mistake. Then going through the multiple Facebook posts from my newly unemployed friends was my second mistake.

Do I need to say I was feeling sorry for myself??? I think that is pretty obvious at this point. In my chocolate-induced haze, I just wanted someone to snuggle with or at least reassure me that everything was going to be all right. I mean, 10th time is a charm right? 10 interviews at 10 different companies, the 10th time has to be lucky???

That’s when I came up with the idea for an Affirmation App. It could contain phrases like:

  • “You have the best ideas.”
  • “Damn, you look good.”
  • “I believe in you.”
  • “You can do it.”
  • “Hang in there, things will get better.”

I’m not the only one who feels like crap about myself. This has got instant success written all over it. Ok, nobody steal my idea.

It’s already been done? Damn :(.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

