Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

laptop

laptop (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I spent a whole year slouching on my couch with my laptop literally in my lap. My tennis elbow got better, I didn’t have any neck or back issues, and I was feeling pretty good. I have been back at work for less than 3 weeks and my back and neck are already giving me troubles.

There is something about sitting at a desk that is killing me.

They are ordering me a laptop stand so that should help but I’m in trouble if I’m already having issues. One of my problems is that I tend to lean on one elbow while I’m sitting at my desk. I have to break that habit and break it quick. It causes some of the muscles in my back to tense up which makes my back hurt.

I think I see more yoga and stretching in my future.

As for work, it’s going well. I am learning A LOT. But I’m also sharing some of my knowledge which is pretty cool. I think sometimes I don’t give myself enough credit for the things that I know but this week I have been a font of information and I feel like I am already contributing to doing things better on the marketing team (we’re a team of 2). I haven’t been as busy as I would like and have had to kind of make up my own work the last couple of days but things are coming together and I still think this is a good fit for me.

I am missing the luxury of time afforded to me in my days of unemployment. Things are busier now. I still have free time as I only have my kids half of the time but there is definitely less of it. I haven’t adjusted to my new life with a job yet. I need to give up some of my time-wasting habits to make time for the things that I really want.

So I guess you have to take the good with the bad and it’ll all come out in the wash. Hopefully, I’ll figure out the whole ergonomics thing soon as I’d like to get that resolved ASAP.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

