Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

Mr Right Now

I like Sven, we have a lot of things in common and things could go somewhere if given the chance. The problem is that I really don’t think he is ready for the same thing I am. Let me tell you what happened.

We hung out yesterday, wandered around town, got some crepes, played board games (I won twice, he said he was distracted by me, HA) – all that was great, very nice actually. And we also went out to eat like we often do.

At the restaurant we ran into people we knew. It just so happened that he knew the wife of the couple and I knew the husband. After we exchanged brief pleasantries, Sven said to me, “That was awkward”. The problem is that it wasn’t awkward, only in his mind. The reason why is that apparently this woman is a bit of a gossip and his concern is that she would tell everyone that he was out with me. Yep, that makes me feel really good about myself.

He wasn’t trying to be an ass or to be rude, the fact is that the breakup of his marriage is not general knowledge yet and he seems to like it that way. As a matter of fact, this is not the first time that he has made the ‘awkward’ comment and I haven’t particularly liked it either time.

Shortly after this comment he proceeded to tell me about how several of his friends got together to see a play a couple of weeks ago and that there were a couple of extra tickets. Apparently his ex-wife suggested that he might ask me to go but he chose not to. He looked me straight in the eye and said, “You were busy with the kids that night,” to which I replied, “No, I wasn’t”.

He knew I wasn’t busy that night and chose not to invite me. I probably wouldn’t have gone anyway as his ex was going with the group but it would have been nice to have been asked and to have made the decision myself. Perhaps he didn’t want me to meet his ex, perhaps he didn’t want me to meet his friends, I don’t know, but I know it makes me feel less sure about dating him at all.

I wish it were easy for me to find someone great to hang with. For some reason it is like finding a needle in a haystack. And for the most part I like hanging with Sven, so I don’t want to dump him and then just sit on my couch by myself every 2nd weekend. I guess I’m settling for Mr Right Now until Mr Right comes along.

I hope I won’t be too busy to recognize Mr Right if and when he crosses my path.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

