Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

I have this new neighbour who moved in two houses down from me a couple of months ago.

We’ve said hi and waved in passing a few times. I’m quite sure he’s a single dad as I’ve seen him and his kids but no one else around, well his dog is there too. If I had to guess, I would say there was no girlfriend or wife though.

He looks close to my age so in my over-active imagination I thought that perhaps we might hit it off and he could be my new potential boyfriend. I love how my over-active imagination is not reality-based at all, lol.

I finally chatted with him today. I was hanging out clothes (probably the last time this year) and he was on his deck smoking a cigarette (Strike #1). We were talking with a house between us but, it was pretty quiet so not that hard to do. I learned that he has a pre-teen and a teen, both boys. I learned that he seems to be anti-US and I learned that he doesn’t monitor what his kids do online. All in all, it was a pretty short chat but I have to say I did not feel a connection. As a matter of fact, I didn’t even feel a need to chat with him again.

Why is it that there are so many single men in the world but finding a compatible one is such a hard thing to do? I’m sure there’s nothing wrong with this guy, other than he smokes, but he just did not seem like my type. Maybe I’m judging too soon, we only spoke for as long as it took him to smoke his cigarette. Maybe we have lots in common and I’m just assuming we don’t.

I’m sure I’ll chat with him again if the opportunity arises but the weather is getting colder so I probably won’t run into him much until Spring. Maybe he’ll seem more interesting then and maybe he’ll have given up smoking.

Or maybe he has a snow blower and he’ll take pity on me this Winter… haha, there goes my over-active imagination again.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

