Taking on 2013 and hoping to revitalize my life

Witches’ Brew

Honey

Honey (Photo credit: quisnovus)

My youngest gave me a bad cold.

Yesterday, I stayed home from work because I felt so lousy. Today, I dragged myself back in because I’ve only had my job for a month so I felt like I had to. However, surprisingly, after lunch, I started to feel better. I’m still snuffly and blowing my nose but I didn’t feel like I needed to curl up under my desk to have a nap so that seems like a turn for the better in my books.

Last winter, at the first sign of any sniffles I dosed myself with cinnamon and honey tea and managed to stave off any and all colds. I have been less diligent this year and hence the reason why I’m sick now. My oldest is also a firm believer in the honey and cinnamon tea but the youngest won’t drink it. Remember how I said she was stubborn? So, she gets sick the most often and does her best to share it with everyone.

Today I was talking with someone who is in the process of creating health and wellness products from raw honey. He is an advocate for the benefits of raw honey and has had great success with it for the last 7 years. When he heard I was sick, he told me to go home and drink honey, cinnamon, lemon and ginger tea. So on my way home from work I picked up a lemon and ginger root to go with my cinnamon and honey.

The whole thing is a little bit of a slurry. The cinnamon doesn’t mix well and leaves a kind of a film on top and I didn’t filter the lemon juice so there are bits of pulp in there plus slices of ginger. If you were to look at it you might think it looked a bit like a witches’ brew.

It’s actually not that bad. And on the advice of my sister I added some rum. I love you Sis!!

So I’m drinking the concoction in the hopes of feeling much better. Luckily it doesn’t taste as bad as it looks as apparently I have to keep drinking it tomorrow. If you have a cold, I dare you to drink the same concoction and let me know what you think. If you don’t care for it that much, just add more rum, then you just won’t care!

Wishing healthy vibes to you all. Cheers!

Comments on: "Witches’ Brew" (2)

  1. I laughed out loud when I read this! Especially the ‘just add more rum”
    Hope your feeling better soon.

Leave a comment